Friday, 21 June 2019

The Sound of Hate 5 (1992) C60

...and here's the other one I have, dating from the highlighter pen years. You will have heard of all of the contributors, or you won't have. I don't know. Maybe you could have a look on the internet or something.

Another decent collection. I probably should have stocked up on these back when it was an option, but I always seemed to be skint. Oh well. Not sure why Cacophony '33' was just a number on this one. Maybe he was skint too and couldn't afford the extra letters. Unusually attentive readers will probably notice I've changed all instances of the term extract, as featured on the cover, to excerpt because it are seems more grammarfied. An excerpt can be from a longer piece of music, whereas extract is usually from almonds and may be used when forming cakes, unless you're Steve Fricker. Sorry. It bothered me.

1 - '33' - Cacultocophony (excerpt I)
2 -
La Función de Repulsa - Kill The Toreros Cabro #87
3 -
Taint - #3. III
4 -
Academy 23 - Homage to Anton La Vey
5 -
Another Headache - Twilight's Last Gleaming
6 -
Maylin Pact - Almost Not Quite (excerpt)
7 -
Grey Wolves - Nacht und Nebel
8 -
'33' - Cacultocophony (excerpt II)
9 -
Academy 23 - Terrorphilia
10 -
Another Headache - Cacophony Concerto, Third Movement
11 -
Mindscan - Distress
12 -
Grey Wolves - Cold Steel Odour

Return to Index

Monday, 17 June 2019

The Sound of Hate 3 (1991) C60

Please refer to previous posts if you're still working on the assumption that the Grey Wolves were actually a Combat 18 recruitment tool as opposed to, you know, just ramming it right down our throats in the hope that maybe we might wake the fuck up. Cheers.
The Sound of Hate was a series of five (to the best of my knowledge) compilation tapes issued by Trev in the early nineties, of which I have just two volumes - this one and five which I'll probably post next week. What surprised me the most about this one, having dug it out of the pile and slapped it in the deck, is that the general sound is a lot more varied than you might expect - plenty of noise, but other elements too, which makes for genuinely unpredictable and exciting listening in my book. Most of the tracks appear on the tape without breaks, so presenting two continuous blocks of sound, and I've more or less edited it in keeping with this ideal rather than inserting the two seconds digital silence at the end of each track as I usually do. This also means that in a couple of cases I found it difficult to tell where certain tracks ended, giving way to something else, so hopefully my application of titles matches the actual material. If not, blame Trev back in 1991.

If you've read this far, I'm assuming you will be at least as familiar with a couple of these names as I am, thus saving me the effort of introductions or explaining how one might use the internet to look stuff up on Discogs. We all remember Pessary and factor X, don't we?

1 - AX 66 - Intensifier
2 -
Traitor - Scum
3 -
Pessary - Untitled (part three)
4 -
Pessary - Untitled (part seven)
5 -
MØHR - Ein Neubeginn
6 -
Enema Och Gejonte - Dedicated to Cantor Hyman Millman
7 -
Batchas - Myiase Tape Extract
8 -
Allimentation Generale - Myiase Tape Extract
9 -
Mindscan - The Pain is the Pleasure
10 - (exit to side one)
11 - (introduction to side two)
12 -
Traitor - XK2.521
13 -
MØHR - Das Ende Einer Famile
14 -
Pessary - Untitled (part twenty-two)
15 -
factor X - Untitled
16 -
Grey Wolves - Sex Death Ritual
Return to Index

Saturday, 8 June 2019

Operation Mind Control - Receiver Generation (1991) C40

I'm not sure there's much I can say about this one, beyond that it's the work of Richard who used to run Chainsaw Cassettes in east London - which I somehow only realised just now when looking on Discogs - and very good it is too, cheaply recorded I would guess, but he achieved a very convincing sound with whatever it was he was doing. I really should have bought a few more things from his catalogue back when I had the chance, but never mind.

1 - Hate
2 - Wrongful Death Suits
3 - Sloburn
4 - Cold, Dead Fingers
5 - Strain
6 - Black & White
7 - Chrome DNA II
8 - 1,000 Ugly
9 - Fluorescent
10 - Comjunk
11 - Drop Circuit

Return to Index

Saturday, 1 June 2019

Regular - Music 1980-1988 (1988) C90

Long term inmates will already have been exposed to the work and existence of John Jasper here, here, here and possibly also here - paragraph nine onwards if you want to cut to the chase. This was one of a number of tapes John ran off for me when I first met him, something to give me an idea of where he was coming from; and, as you will hear, he was coming from somewhere roughly equidistant between PIL's Metal Box and Adrian Sherwood's On-U label, but with enough of his own thing to oblige the rest of us to at least have to work at spotting the influences. John had a weird habit of occasionally mixing his own stuff up with that which had patently been recorded by other people - notably one thing he claimed some friend had sent to him which I almost immediately recognised as Keith LeBlanc's Major Malfunction album. The last time I saw him - late nineties, I think - he passed me a tape of his work with a few tracks sounding suspiciously like something off the Leftfield album. Anyway, I'm reasonably certain this one was all John, excepting that I played the bass on February '88 (the first thing we collaborated on), and the first two tracks of side two were from a Jah Wobble record, which I haven't included here for obvious reasons; and as for recorded live at the Hope & Anchor, sure, John, whatever you say...

Frankly, this guy was funny as fuck and an artistic leviathan where his music was concerned. Had he been able to resist weaving all those weird self-defeating webs of mystery and half truth around his efforts, we might now be buying the 180gsm vinyl reissues of a massive back catalogue rather than hearing it for the first time as a download of a tape that's been sat at the bottom of a cardboard box for the last couple of decades, but never mind. If it weren't for all the bewildering subterfuge, he probably wouldn't have been John.

1 - A Joke from the Neck
2 - Scratch
3 - Version Yellow I
4 - Version Yellow II
5 - Metal West
6 - Disco (Jerk Off)
7 - Three Cat Juggle
8 - Ground Under Sound
9 - Metro (with Colour)
10 - Shortwave Globetrot
11 - (no title)
12 - February '88
13 - Absence
14 - Into Thin Air
15 - Dry
16 - Collage
17 - Mind Sweeps Back
18 - Rubberneck
19 - A Joke from the Neck II

Return to Index